Cherishing my history

As a child, growing up in a specific household I was taught do live by certain rules and principles. As I grew up, I started to look at things from a different perspective. I am the type of person, who doesn’t see color, and I accept everyone for who they are and where they come from, so it pisses me off that we have come so far just to be pushed over 60 years back. That comment made by the owner of the L.A. Clippers was very hurtful and shocking to think that we still have people out there who look down not only on African Americans, but all minorities. That comment, just makes me question what was the point of fighting for Blacks and other minority groups fighting for their freedom if the ignorance of other still lingers around us? 

As long as I can remember I always questioned what makes the “white man” better than those who’s skin is darker, who’s hair is nappier, who’s physical features are more curvy than most. We can’t say it was the money, because without the capturing of Africans, the Europeans wouldn’t have made a profit. So what is it really that makes them so-called better than us? Can someone really answer this question for me, or even for themselves? Here is my answer:

My answer is nothing makes them better than us. At the end of the day, and when each and everyone of our time is up, we as human beings and as a people have to answer to one person and that is God himself. We were created as equals, to be treated as equals, to be respected as equals. The fight that our ancestors, as well as the leaders of the past had endured for us to finally have our freedom is something that I will cherish for the rest of my life and that is something that nobody can take from us as people.

This is my history, a history that I cherish

Leave a Reply

